Looking for charming places rich in history and original in terms of the proposal to explore the present day, it is worth to remember about Puck on your tourist trail, the oldest Slavic port on the Baltic Sea waters, the town of the Dukes of Poland, the Royal Navy base, the place of the Polish wedding with the sea. The cultural, natural and tourist characteristics of the Kashubian town of the Puck Bay waters are complemented by the beautiful surroundings, which are worh to be explored with the trace of previous villages and estates. Half-timbered buildings, roadside crosses and shrines, churches in Mechów, Starzyna, and Sanctuary of Our Lady Swarzewska are the most interesting sacred objects, which are only few in Kashuby. 19th-century palaces, mansions create the friendly atmosphere of the past. They are particularly visited places by the tourists. One comes to Puck during holidays to be healthy and relax. The town is explored for at least two hours. The old town attracts with its climate and unique atmosphere, with its preserved medieval street layout, and the old town hall located in the old market, now the Wolności Square. In a season, on the southern side of the market, there is the scene where outdoor cultural events take place. On the opposite side, there is one of the buildings of the Puck Land Museum with a permanent archaeological exhibition of Puck, the interior of the townspeople house and the temporary exhibitions.

The origins of the settlement dates back to the early middle ages. In the 2nd half of the 13th century, the Castellan town of the East Pomeranian Princes existed in Puck. Since 1309, it was possessed by the Teutonic Knights, and was the headquarters of komturia. The town obtained the town rights from the Germans in 1348.

During the 13-year war (1454-1466), the citizens of Puck supported Poland.  In 1457, the exiled king of Sweden, Karl VIII Knutsson Bonde, found refuge in Puck. In return for 15.000 Prussian Marks, he obtained the Puck Land (980 km2) in pledge from Kazimierz Jagiellończyk. The Puck country lasted formally until 1460, when the Teutonic Knights conquered Puck, later the king found refuge in Gdańsk.

In 1466, Puck was included to Royal Prussia, which was a part of the Crown since 1569 (previously subjected to its autonomous policy). The headquarter of the poviat starost’s office, the place of the comitia minora and the magistrates’ courts. During the reign of the Vasa Family, it was the fortress and the base of the Polish fleet.

In the middle of the 18th century the town deteriorated, and in 1772 it was included into the state of Frederick the Great. In 1818, it was the county seat in Gdańsk (then it was called Putzig), its importance increased slightly. At that time, the Puck beer, famous in the entire Pomeranian Region, was produced there.

On 10 February 1920, the Polish wedding with the sea occurred with the participation of General Haller.

On 1 July 1920, the sea aviation base was established in Puck; the first Polish aviation unit, and in October that year, the coastal artillery regiment was formed.

Until September 1939, Puck was the garrison of the Maritime Aviation Squadron. The Puck Gendarmerie Post operated at the squadron. In the autumn of 1937, the Kashubian National Defence Battalion was established in Puck.

On 15 August 1922, during the celebrations of the second anniversary of the “Miracle on the Vistula River”, the tragic “plane crash” occurred.

Until 1926, Puck and Hel were the only Polish seaports (apart from Gdańsk). In the same year, the town was degraded – the Puck County was abolished, and the town and its vicinity were included in the maritime county, with its headquarter in Wejherowo.

In the years 1939-1945, the town was under the German occupation. From 1941 to 1944, there was the labour camp, where the prisoners produced planes parts. The Puck County was re-established in 1956, which existed until 1975, and again since 1999.