Puck is attractive in terms of tourism; it is one of the most interesting seaside resorts on the coast. It is characterized by the maritime climate, clean water, clean, full of scent of iodine air, as well as a sandy beach with guarded swimming areas. There is no doubt that this fact is in favour of spending free time in the summer on the sunny beach and safe bathing area, and for all who want to relax and regain strength, it is a wonderful and desired place. Sunbathing has no age limits, so the users involve children, adolescents, adults, even infants and older people, even those at the elderly age, who enjoy the fresh sea air under the umbrella. For several years, enthusiasts and fans of sails, windsurfing and other water sports have been provided with the possibilities to use the one of the best water reservoirs in the central-eastern Europe, which is undoubtedly the Bay of Puck. The European and World Championships held annually in various classes of sailing and windsurfing confirm this. For the amateurs, the schools were established at the Sea Scouts Centre “HOM” to provide the possibility to learn under the tutelage of the experienced instructors.
What is worth seeing, what it is worth experiencing in Puck…
Puck Fara of St. Peter and Paul, the Gothic brick building with rich interior equipment, mainly from the Baroque time.
Puck Fara is the oldest and most important historical object in Puck, characterised with a large block with a low tower. The church of made of brick and granite blocks was constructed in stages between the 13th and 15th centuries, it is located on the edge of the seaside hill. Due to this location, the church presents itself the most beautifully from the sea. In the hall interior, there are massive pillars supporting the starry vault. In the nave, the pulpit with a beautiful canopy made in the 17th century draws attention. The entire east wall of the presbytery covers the main altar with two floors. The church screen baptismal dating from the late 17th century, the great crucifix on the rood wall from with approximately 1700 and richly decorated Rococo confessionals are very interesting. The chapel of Judycki is decorated with the Baroque sculptures and paintings. The most interesting pieces of art are presented in the the burial chapel of the Wejher Family, founded in 1597.
The pier in Puck creates distinctive and unique landscape of the town,
and is an ideal view point. One can admire the open views, beaches, ports, a significant part of the church, areas with windmills and the Hel Peninsula stretching for miles. On the main Pier, the unusual “Bursztynia” stands – a round restaurant with glass walls, from which the water from the Bay of Puck extands.
This is a very popular place for the inhabitants and the visitors of Puck to stroll around.
The old market square with unique atmosphere and form
The market square has a medieval urban layout of the townspeople houses from the 18th/19th centuries and the town hall from the 19th century. The uniqueness of the place is also stressed by the tower monumentally rising upward over the church established in the 14th century. The part of the buildings surrounding the market square was modelled on the townspeople houses of Gdańsk. Formerly, the centre of the town was of greater importance, i.e. it played the commercial as well as creative and cultural roles, today it is the most popular meeting place for the inhabitants and the visitors.
Currently, the old market square is in the process of the revitalization works.
– the Town Hall (1863-65) built according to a design of arch. Blaurock from Wejherowo The Market Square
The yacht port – colorful and modern
This is an extremely attractive and modern sport and recreation object, the unique location and picturesque characteristics of which form one of the most beautiful areas of the town. In port landscape includes many, dynamic boats, white sails and athletes, who are taking advantage of good weather conditions, and trying their hands with the element.
The yacht port provides excellent conditions for water sports, from both the technical and hardware base and the weather conditions. Wind occurring in the area ensures optimum efficiency for the sailors, windsurfers and kitesurfers. As a result, prestigious competitions at world and European championships are held here, the Olympic athletes and the international sailing elite practise here. In winter, it becomes a paradise for fast ice sailing.
The horizon is set here by the the line of the Hel Peninsula, which separates the blue sky from a glass of water in the Bay of Puck. It is ideal not only for water sports enthusiasts, but also for lovers of beautiful views, photographs, aesthetic experience.
The fishing port – the place of exceptional and national symbolism.
Its beauty and lofty history stresses specific, symbolic and uniqueness of this place. The port was the base of the royal fleet, it served as a military port of the Second Polish Republic, and it was a historic place of the Polish wedding with the sea in 1920. The event is still reminded by the monument of General Józef Haller.
Currently, it is peaceful and quiet marina with colourful and old boats, which still attracts the inhabitants and the tourists, encouraging families to go for walks and romantic evening strolls.
– the monument of General Józef Haller, the commander of the Pomeranian war front, who was provided with the Pomeranian Region from the Prussian administration in 1920; the executor of the Polish marriage to the Sea
– the marriage post set to commemorate the Polish marriage to the Sea on 10 February 1920.
The beautiful park named after Felix Nowowiejski – one of the most attractive places in the town
A beautiful and monumental park is one of the most beautiful and charming places in Puck. Dense and green crowns of large and old oaks encourage the inhabitants and the tourists to go for long walks and rest between green lanes.
After obtaining the funds for the nature protection obtained by the town with the help of the Regional Fund for Environmental Protection and Water Management in Gdańsk, the thorough sanitary treatment and adjustments were made, so we are the happy owners of not only beautiful, but also well-cared and well-groomed park to the delight of all Puck inhabitants.
The archaeological position of Puck castle at Zamkowa Street, constructed by the Teutonic Knights in the late 14th or early 15th century. Situated in the north-west corner of the town, on the area approx. 4 m above sea level, was originally a small massive, brick, two-story residential building, with a basement, a kitchen, a chapel and an attic. A tower and a gate, called the Mill, were erected soon. Due to the role that served as the seat of the local administration, it did not have its own fortifications; however, it was included in the defence system of the town. From the sea, it was protected by a moat and an earthen rampart, and separated from the castle with a moat with a drawbridge and a gate. Walls with four gates surrounded the town itself: from the north – Korabna, from the east – Fishing, from the south – Gdańsk, and from the west – Mill.
Following recovery of Gdańsk Pomerania by the Republic of Poland, following making piece in Oliva in 1466, the castle became the seat of the Puck governors. The first resident was Otto Marchwitz, followed by the representatives of the Kostek Family and the Wejher Family, who extended the castle.
The extension of the castle was carried out at the turn of the 16th and the 17th centuries. The area was then enlarged by the heaped slope of the castle descending towards the sea and the land protected with a wooden palisade. Next, the new buildings were constructed. According to the inspection carried out in 1627 and 1628, during the times of Jan Wejher, the castle was divided into two parts: one was a major castle consisted of a residential building called the old building, the defence tower at the Mill Gate, the residential house, so-called new building and a brewery; in the second part there were: a barn, a granary and an arsenal. The wall and the moat separated both parts.
The growing threat from Sweden in the 17th century resulted in the need to strengthen the defence of the castle and the entire town. Next to the extension of the castle, the actions were also taken to fortify Puck. The works started in approx. 1634. As a result, the town was surrounded by a profiled earthen rampart with a height of approx. 4 m and a width of 13 m. From the west, south and east of the rampart, large ground bastions were constructed. It was surrounded by the moat with a width of approx. 20 m and a depth of 7 m. “The Swedish Deluge” and the siege of Puck in the years 1655-1656 made no major damage in the town and the castle; later no fortification works were carried out.
In times of Prussian administration, the castle and the remains of the town walls were demolished by selling bricks to the inhabitants, and in the place of the former castle square, the Evangelical church of St. Holy Trinity was erected on 9 November 1845, and demolished in 1956. Today, the traces of the castle and the town fortifications are the partially exposed foundations of the “old building” on the castle square, at Zamkowa Street, and the remains of the earthen fortifications around the by-bay area (Żeglarzy Street).
The text quoted from: J.Grochowska, B. Kos-Dabrowska, R. Drzeżdżon. PUCK – the Capital of the National Kashubian. REGION Publisher, Gdynia 2007/ Illustrated mini-guide.
The coastal cycle path from Puck through Swarzewo, Władysławowo, Jastarnia to Jurata – along the Bay of Puck
The attractive spot for a great view, the information places with small marinas in the bay and the gastronomic offer. Everything favours and invites the lovers of the marina landscapes for outdoor activities and enjoys unforgettable views.
In Puck, 4 068 m cycling path, from Płutnica along the shoreline of the Bay of Puck, runs through the fishing port, the sailing promenade sailing, through the park named after Felix Nowowoejski to Rozgard. The whole cycling path around the Bay of Puck exceeds 40 km.
The Sea Fishermen Pilgrimage to the indulgence of Saints Peter and Paul to Fary in Puck. This event important for all Kashubian inhabitants is held annually in June.
For the believers, it is necessary to participate in the religious worship, according to the fixed rules. The Hel Peninsula inhabitants have their own pilgrimage, unique in Europe and the world. On the day of indulgence of Saints Apostles Peter and Paul, the Kashubian fishermen sail the waters of the Bay of Puck, with the boats from Kuźnica, Jastarnia and Władysławowo, to participate in the service on a small sea waves, and later in the indulgence main mass in Fara of Puck, which is the oldest and the most important historic object in the sea town, the capital of the northern Kashubia region.
The pilgrimage on the water from the Hel Peninsula has a long tradition, whose origins date back to approx. 1217, when Puck was provided with the privilege of holding the fairs on the parish patrons’ day. It should be mentioned that the Peninsula has been a number of islands for a long time, and getting to Puck could be held only by a boat. In 1981, the pilgrimage to Puck with the fishing boats was re-taken due to the actions taken by Gerard Markowski, the Pastor in Kuźnica and the famous boat builder, as well as Aleksander Celarka from Chałupy, the sailing master.